Porsche Forum - Porsche Enthusiast Forums

Porsche Forum - Porsche Enthusiast Forums (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/)
-   Porsche 356 (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/porsche-356-14/)
-   -   911 engine into a 356 (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/porsche-356-14/911-engine-into-356-a-2440/)

justin1 11-29-2006 02:16 PM

911 engine into a 356

Maybe I will get shot but I have a car which will never be a museum masterpiece. I will do the best I can in restoring but everything has its limits. Its a 1964 356C and I would start by rebuilding the engine or have it done. Big dollars are to be expected. Maybe it would be better to install a 911 engine, get some real excitement with some power and still get the fun of the old shape and body. I am new to this but my guess is KIT cars are not well accepted into the "CLUB" I imagine people always have to explain its a "KIT" and it probably takes a bit away from the whole game or maybe I am thinking too much and need to get a life. I don't have any buddies with a Porsche or even thinking in this direction, I grew up in California where they were the center of cool. Now in Florida and outside of Miami or Lauderdale, if its not a pick-up you might be from the moon. Anyway, will a 911 engine fit in the 356?

CTiggerPigglet 11-30-2006 02:18 PM

RE: 911 engine into a 356

Hi Justin, I have no idea if the 911 will fit in the 356, but it would be an awsome thing to do!

As with most things car wise, it most proberbly can be done, but how much it would cost is another thing? Swapping the engine wouldn't be the only thing to consider. What about the brakes, suspension, steering, cooling, electrics, etc?

I think this would be a BIG job, but never say never. I'm sure if you look hard enough on the net, you will find someone who has already done this conversion.

A.T.B. CTiggerPigglet!!!!!
[sm=gears.gif]

CTiggerPigglet 11-30-2006 02:36 PM