Porsche Forum - Porsche Enthusiast Forums

Porsche Forum - Porsche Enthusiast Forums (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/)
-   Porsche 924 (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/porsche-924-12/)
-   -   924S Project Car: Opinions needed (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/porsche-924-12/924s-project-car-opinions-needed-9657/)

finaltable 11-03-2010 04:59 PM

924S Project Car: Opinions needed

I have always wanted to restore an older car, the kind without a computer on which I could work myself. I worked in a garage before and worked as a utility hand on an oil platform so tools are not new to me. I have a son who just turned 9 and thought it would be a great project to get a car when he was approaching driving age and do this as a father/son project. I have an uncle who runs a garage who works on everything from Fords & Hondas to Porsches & Jags. My plan was that I would pick a car to restore and have him help me outfit a workshop for that car. He has access to all the online manuals and has the equipment to do anything major I cannot do myself. My original plan had been a 1960's American car because I knew parts would always be available.

I was visiting him at his shop the other day, talking about my plans. One of his employees overheard me and said, "You know" pointing to a car under a tarp "that Porsche over there would be great for you." It turns out he had completely restored a 1987 924S for his "idiot son" (his words) who tried to race a Boxster on IH-35 a couple of years ago and blew the engine. He has a replacement engine for it but hasn't done the work because the son moved to another state and "he doesn't deserve it anyway" (another quote). The car is sound outside and the interior looks good.

This idea is attractive to me but I worry about it being a money pit for parts. Obviously, I have a support system most people don't have through my uncle but I still don't want to get into something for which minor repair parts will cost a fortune.