Porsche Forum - Porsche Enthusiast Forums

Porsche Forum - Porsche Enthusiast Forums (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/)
-   Porsche Cayman S (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/porsche-cayman-s-36/)
-   -   Cayman S Cabin Heat Question (https://www.germanautoforums.com/forum/porsche-cayman-s-36/cayman-s-cabin-heat-question-1557/)

Cayman_S 03-08-2006 09:33 PM

Cayman S Cabin Heat Question

Hello, (this was originally posted under "General Porsche Chat" in error - Sorry...newbie mistake)

I’m a newbie to forums and will be a new Porsche Cayman S owner…I think…but I have a very important question I must ask any current Cayman S owners or anyone else that may have some info for me please. I was reading some articles about the Cayman S and loved everything I read except the following item noted in 2 different articles:

1) the engine behind you heats up the cabin noticeably
2) the mid-mounted engine makes life hard for the air-conditioning; the cabin serves up rump roast over frozen heart as a summer dish

I hate heat!! To give you an example of how much I hate heat; to say I hate heat would be similar to saying the Cayman S handles ok. Does anyone have any input as to how bad this cabin heat issue really is? I am (or was) within a couple days of ordering my Cayman S.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Lee Willis 03-20-2006 10:53 PM

RE: Cayman S Cabin Heat Question

I don't think it is really an issue, and if it is, that is what the AC is for.

Heat inside the car can be an issue in some high performance cars, such as with the new 505 HP ZO6, which apparently gets quite hot if you drive it hard. Chevy deliberately left out 30 lbs of heat insulation on the lower firewall, driveshaft tunnel, and rear cockpit, to cut weight: but I don't think Porsche went to those extremes with the Caymen.

pitbul 04-17-2006 02:22 AM