Notices
Porsche 911 The Porsche 911 (and all it's trimlines) is a famous, distinctive and durable car has undergone continuous development since its arrival in 1964. The 911 was developed as a more powerful, larger, more comfortable replacement for the Porsche 356.

My first 911

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2010, 07:31 PM
Talking My first 911

So I'm just getting into my first Porsche and so far I love it. I have a 1992 Porsche 911 turbo (I believe its the 3.3L but I have been told its a 3.6 by different people). I wanted to get the car perfect in my eyes so I was doing my first oil change on it. Obviously oil changes arn't the same as my normal Honda daily driver. Without a repair manual, I jumped into this situation myself. I realized quickly that there is two oil drain bolts on the car. I am completely stumped and can only fine one(in my opinion its the obvious one that is in the direct center of the back of the car). I don't have a repair manual to locate the other one. Can anyone aid and let me know for a 92' where the second drain bolt will be? Also how much oil does a 92 hold, I read and was told it was 9.9 quarts, is this correct ( I was also told to use 5W-30 castrol synthetic, is this true)? Also is there anything else out of the normal oil change that I should be other than drain, change filter, refill, and start hot and check, add if needed? Thanks so much for any help. -Alex

Old 08-31-2010, 08:03 PM
Super Moderator

Look in front of the passenger rear wheel in the skirt there is a cutout where the reservoir drain is (and this drain shoots oil out at a pretty fast pace, so be ready). Should hold about 8.5 quarts.

Your 92 is indeed a 3.3L. The 3.6 turbo did not come out until 1994.

Old 09-01-2010, 06:41 AM