Notices
Porsche 911 The Porsche 911 (and all it's trimlines) is a famous, distinctive and durable car has undergone continuous development since its arrival in 1964. The 911 was developed as a more powerful, larger, more comfortable replacement for the Porsche 356.

New To Porsche

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2008, 02:32 PM
Default New To Porsche

I am going to buy a '78-87 911. I'm new to Porsche and Porsche enthusiasts and I’ve already read much about the different models but I have a couple of general questions about eventually reselling.

Thinking about resale value and demand, when people (like you guys) buy a Porsche, does it have more value if it is kept original? For instance, is it better to buy one with all the original engine, transmission, color, etc and restore it as original as possible OR buy something that has an older body but with an engine, transmission, etc from a newer model 911 (say a ’79 body with ’85 engine)?

I really want a red one but I can’t seem to get one that meets my other requirements. Is it bad to paint a car a different color than it was originally?

Other than body looks is there a difference between the Coupe and Targa? Is one more desired over the other?

Any input is welcome and thanks for you help.

Old 01-31-2008, 05:02 PM
Default RE: New To Porsche

sagolfer

Although I'm not an expert, I will try to answer some of your questions.

Normally an original car will have a greater resale value than one that has been modified.

Changing the color is expensive and usually not going to add, but will subtract from the value of the car... Coupe usually have a higher resale value then the Targa, and less then a cab.

Coupes are generally stiffer then either a cab. or Targa.

As red is the most common color, I would guessyou will find one meeting your specifications....

Years ago, when I was searching for my 87the one color I didn't want was red, so as fate would have the best car I found was red.... Now Ilike it