Notices
Porsche 944 The Porsche 944 and 944 Turbo was a huge success for Porsche throughout the 1980s.

Noob here, should I buy this 944?

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 12:21 AM
Default Noob here, should I buy this 944?

Alright I'm going to keep this short and sweet... I have experience with cars, I work as a mechanic. Mostly from the import area, i had a track ***** Acura Integra, yada yada. Currently I drive a plain ol' buick and i have a sport bike.

Well, I found someone on craigslist with a porsche 944 that is interested in trading my bike for the car. I'd have to put a little money with my bike (cus the bikes not worth as much as the car, though very close)

Basically I'd be paying around $3500 for the car, but that's assuming I can't talk them down at all....

It's a 1985 Porsche 944 5speed with 97,xxx miles on it.

Supposedly new clutch and all that good stuff, so lets assume all of that. I haven't seen it yet either, but lets assume the sellers telling the truth and the cars in good shape.

First question: Is this car worth $3500?

Second Question: What are some common problems I should look for when I go to see the car sunday?

This is the sort of car I want to get into. I don't plan on doing ANYTHING to it, just drive it... will this be an OK daily driver, and is the maintainance cost going to be OK? How are parts? I can do all the work myself, but are parts expensive....?

Basically school this n00b on all that is 944! I've always loved these cars, never owned though. Help me out!

-Jordan

Old 11-09-2006, 12:30 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Noob here, should I buy this 944?