Notices
Porsche 924 The Porsche 924 was produced from 1976 to 1988 was a two-door, 2+2 seat sports car coupe.

Can you turbo a 87 924S?

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2005, 12:32 AM
Default Can you turbo a 87 924S?

just wondering if its possible to turbo a 924S (1987)

doesnt have to be porsche turbo just wondering if you had any ideas like best turbo to use i.e..what size

ANY info you guys have would bew awsome

Old 02-15-2005, 02:50 PM
Default RE: Can you turbo a 87 924S?

Hello,

Although im no porsche expert, i am pretty knowledgable of cars. The 924 s is merely a 944 engine in a 924 body, and that there is a is a 944 Turbo, logic would deduce that turboing a 924s is a vaiable option. Because of the light weight of the 9X4's, ure car will fly if u put one of those bad boys on. I beleive the turbo u would want is the k16 turbo thats on the 924 turbo. I would not suggest the greddy turbo kit for the 924, it tends to crack a lot.

good luck.

and if u are spending the money for the turbo, u might as well save up a little bit more, and get a new flywheel, clutch, downpipe, exhaust, and intercooler. if you want a FAST 0-60 time, your best bet would be to super light your car as well.

later

-jordan

Old 06-16-2005, 03:41 PM

yes you can turbo the car... But it is not cheap or easy. First you need to think about fuel delivery. You can go stand alone or get a 951 dme and klr. Then you need the crossover pipe, Downpipe and header. Turbo motor mount to feed oil to the charger and gives you a mounting point. The stock turbo is a K26. Then find a turbo intake and intercooler (I have all of these parts minus the turbo itself if you need them) Now with this setup and a manual boost controller you are good for about 5 maybe 6 psi. If you want to get 951 power out of this then you need to get 951 pistons(forged where yours are cast) Turbo head. The turbo will produce way too much heat for the stock valves. New rods.. Forged not cast.