Notices
Porsche 944 The Porsche 944 and 944 Turbo was a huge success for Porsche throughout the 1980s.

new to the porsche world, have some questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2007, 02:43 AM
Default new to the porsche world, have some questions

hi guys! I recently purchased an '87 944 non-turbo. It's taken me 7 Japaneses cars including Supras and Z cars to finally realize just how the European market can spoil you. I do, however, have a few questions about the 944. Now bear in mind that I am fairly mechanically inclined, I make my living off of cars, so I'm no stranger to them. While I've worked on a few Audis and Volkswagens, the European way of doing things is still a bit foreign to me...hopefully that will change with the 944.

My first question is about interchangeability and aftermarket parts as far as suspension is concerned. To put it simply, what are the differences between the M030 suspension, and the standard N/A or turbo suspension? is there anything specific that prevents a bolt-up swap between the two? Also, I've browsed around the Lindsey Racing website a bit, and taken interest in the aftermarket suspension they offer. Some of those setups have coil springs in the rear instead of torsion bars, does anyone know if those are designed to eliminate the torsion bars completely, or just serve as "helper" springs?

My second question is related to the drivetrain. I've searched around a bit, and found that the turbo S and S2 transaxles are the strongest from the 944 series. Are these 100% bolt-in upgrades for my 87 n/a, or are additional parts required? The reason I ask is because I'm considering an engine swap and am looking for a fairly bullet-proof setup (forgiving clutch drops, of course). I'd also like to know if the 968 6 speed transaxle is a bolt in as well, and what it's power capacity is, if anyone has any thoughts on it. Also, any power capacity issues with the torque tube?