Notices
Porsche Boxster Porsche's smallest and least expensive sports car model,the Boxster is a convertible sports car released in late 1996.

2008 Boxster S

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 02:20 PM
Default 2008 Boxster S

Ordered my first Porsche last weekend! I tried to order a 2007 Boxster S, but was told there were no more allocations available. I checked this wth a couple of area dealers and they confirmed-- so ordered a 2008 S. Does anyone know why a Boxster can't be ordered 5 months before the supposed end of the current model year? Waiting until year-endfor my new one and foregoing another summer of Colorado mountain driving seems a real shame. Will keep everyone posted on new model details,pricing, etc. as the '08 progresses through the build process.

Old 05-03-2007, 09:30 PM
Default RE: 2008 Boxster S

Hey Steve,
I'm just learning about Porsche. I'm just curious and have some questions for you.

1) What are the advantages / disadvantages of ordering a new porsche instead of buying a new one from a dealership?

2) What kind of warranty do you get?

3) What if you don't like the car when you first receive it and you notice defects, etc?

any and all information is greatly appreciated!

Old 05-04-2007, 03:25 PM

Interesting questions:

The only real advantage to ordering a car is you get the exact color and equipment combination you want. Some color combinations are next to impossible to find and if this is important to you and no dealer has something close, the only optionis to order one. I checked online with close to 100 Porsche dealers and found one '07 Boxster S in the colors I wanted and the equipment was close, but it came with a Tiptronic automatic and I definitely want the 6-speed. I started my search too late in the '07model cycle and since colors and optionsare important to me, had no choice but to order an '08.My preference would have been to get one from dealer stock, even if it meant shipping it cross-country.