Notices
New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself...

Decided on getting a 911, but have questions - Please comment

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2007, 06:10 PM
Default Decided on getting a 911, but have questions - Please comment

I am new to this forum and will attempt to explain what I am looking for. Although I had begun this quest on a different site where I considered nearly every car aside from the Porsche 911, my decision will be in this family of cars. If you want to read my thinking up to here, please read comments on this thread I started.

Now I am narrowing which to choose from and what price I will pay. Last weekend I drove a new 997 Cabriolet that drove very well, about the same as a used Boxster S that I drove last week. The Boxster is a fine car that I would get if the third seat wasn’t needed.

Anyway, I am new to Porsche automobiles, having never really followed any of their changes over the years. Although still not completely set, the price I would want to pay is in the low $40K range, but I am willing to wait for the right car. There is no urgency that would prevent me from waiting for a good deal for the color/year I want. My thinking now is I want a Black 2002 or 2003 996 Cabriolet with few miles. I think this is the model right before the current, and produced in 2005, model that we see today. Are there reasons that I should consider 2004 or 2005? I think these two years command more than I am willing to spend, although if I wait until the 2008’s are about to be released, these might fit my budget.