Notices
New Members Area Just Joined? Be sure to pop in here and introduce yourself...

New member, and need advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2005, 09:25 PM
Default New member, and need advice

Hi all Porsche lovers:
I don't own a Porsche, but I in the market for one. I am planning to get a used Boxter.
I am seeking advice from all Porsche owners, and please excuse my ignorance as I am new to cars.
First: What is the averge annaul mentainance cost for a Boxter will be?
Someone told me that I can't work on any Porsche myself, like changing oil, plugs, filters...etc, he said that only the dealer can work on it, and not even regular mechanics. Is it true?
How relaible 2000 Boxter is? Is it going to be a hole in my pocket??

I would love to have a Porsche, however if I can't mentain the car myself, I might have to go for a Corvette.

any advice is really appreciated,

thanks

Old 06-11-2005, 01:03 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: New member, and need advice

First off that someone is full of crap, you can do most anything in terms of maintenance yourself, granted you have a good selection of tools. Yea, you start tearing down a motor, and it will require tools you can't afford if you are only doing it once, but general maintenance you can do. Things are a little different on a boxster than a chevy V8, but plugs, air filters, oil changes, etc are all doable by the average person.

edit: And as far as maintenance per year, that really depends on the previous owner, when you buy a used car, you buy the previous owner(s), and if it has been neglected, then expect some maintenance. The cars themselves are pretty reliable.

Old 03-21-2008, 08:54 AM

I did find somewhere that the cost of ownership across a 5 year period on a new (2008)997 C2S.

The report included depreciation, finance charges, gasoline, routine maintenance (tires/oil)etc.

With all of that, the amount was $102000!!!

Depreciation: $47.6K
Financing: $15.4K
Insurance: $12K
Taxes and Fees: $6K
Fuel: $13K