Notices
Porsche 911 The Porsche 911 (and all it's trimlines) is a famous, distinctive and durable car has undergone continuous development since its arrival in 1964. The 911 was developed as a more powerful, larger, more comfortable replacement for the Porsche 356.

Help! My new 911sc won't start

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 12:30 AM
Default Help! My new 911sc won't start

HI, I am new to the 911 owner experience after a 10 year hiatus. My story is I just purchased a 1983 SC from a gentleman in Wisconsin. I had the car inspected at a indy and the car got a tuneup and a few oil lines replaced. Otherwise the car was in good condition and I was very happy when I picked it up. It's a gold cabriolet and I drove it problem free from Wisconsin to St. Louis in one day. On the drive home I had NO problems at all. It started every time and without hesitation. On the drive home it rained like a big dog but no issues during the rain. I got home and drove it into the garage and now it won't start. It turns over fine and fires for a couple of seconds and then dies. I do smell fuel from the exhaust. I have swapped the fuel pump relay out without benefit and changed the coil. I dont seem to hear the pump going when I turn the ignition on (should it be very obvious?). Can I check this easily and where do I check (I do have a voltmeter). I have read a lot about the CD Ignition box problems too - could this be my problem as well? I check the distributor cap and rotor (given the rain conditions) and they looked fine. How can I check if my distributor/coil is getting spark? I am a novice when it comes to electrical troubleshooting but I would like to give it a go before sending her off to a mechanic. If anyone is in the St. Louis area and could help I'd appreciate it. I have ordered a brand new fuel pump relay, dist cap and rotor and new wires, and a fuel filter (I figure they are all good LT maintenance items so no loss in getting these). Thanks in advance folks. The cab only h