Notices
Porsche 944 The Porsche 944 and 944 Turbo was a huge success for Porsche throughout the 1980s.

Am i safe with my money?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2007, 01:59 AM
Default Am i safe with my money?

Hi my name is Steven. I am a freshman in collage and have always wanted to own a Porshe but do to pay for collage i don't have to much money. Yesterday i found a 1987 Porshe 944 in the classifieds for 3,800. It looks and runs great. I instantly fell in love with it and wanted to buy it on the spot but i thought i should do some research first. I found out that repairs are very expensive and with a car that old you can run into problems. After buying the car i would only have 1,500 left over that could use for possible repairs. I was talking to one of my friends and he thought that i shouldn't buy the car yet because i would be using as a daily driver and with my lake of money i wouldn't be able to afford keeping on the road all the time. So what do you guys think? Would i be safe buying it now or should i wait? I really want to buy it because this would make one of my dreams come true.
Thanks,
-Steven

Old 04-30-2007, 02:23 AM
Default RE: Am i safe with my money?

If your handy with the spanners and willing to do any repairs yourself as parts are not that expencive, then go for it, otherwise run a mile as labour is the killer

Old 04-30-2007, 03:22 AM

Steven,

If you are satisfied that the car is in good running condition and you are able to speak to the previous owner(s), and it got a service record, Go for it.

Here in my country we got the AA (Automobile Association) where you can take the car you want to buy and after a thorough inspection, they declare it roadworthy and in good condition.

If you got a organisation like that over there, spend that few exra bucs just to get peace of mind.

Let us know what you decided.

Old 04-30-2007, 11:27 AM
Super Moderator

Steven,