Notices
Porsche 944 The Porsche 944 and 944 Turbo was a huge success for Porsche throughout the 1980s.

Newbie Way over His Head!!! Please Help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2007, 05:46 PM
Default Newbie Way over His Head!!! Please Help!

2 weeks ago I purchased one of the cleanest 944's I have seen and it took all of my savings (I'm a starvingcollege student.) I test drove it really hard and there didn't seem to be anything wrong with it, besides little things that are easily fixable like brake pads, and power steering.

The morning after when the car is cold I turn it on, and I hear a light knocking, I get scared but after a minute the car warms up and the sound goes away, but the car hadplenty ofoil in it. I am real exited and I am on my way to wash it at my local car wash and at the light Ipush the car to see what itcan really do, andI feel like something is wrong but I had already arrived at the car wash and it starts to smoke like crazy. I look at the engine and there is a hole in my cam tower the size of ahalf dollar. People were telling me to move out of the way, so I see if I can turn it on, and it does! I slowly move it out of the way. I taped up the hole so no more oil would get on the exhaust, and I drove it home slowly, funny thing is that it drove home just fine without any problems, just plenty of smoke from the oil on the heads.